

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING HELD ON 28th of MAY 2024 AT GEORGE EDWARDS HALL, CEFN & VIA ZOOM PLATFORM

1.PRESENT Councillors: Mrs S Benbow-Jones, Mrs K Benfield, P Blackwell, Mrs J Jones, Mrs P Roberts, Mrs K Tiltman, Mrs I Twigg, B Twigg, P Vaughan, G Wood,

Councillors Mr D Wright & Mrs G Wright joined on the Zoom Platform .

2.ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

<u>Resolved</u> – As only one nomination was received it was unanimously resolved that Councillor P Vaughan be re-elected to serve as Chairperson for 2024/25

The Chairman signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

3.APOLOGIES, WELCOME AND INTRODUCTION Apologies for absence: Mrs S Matthews & Mrs S Mills.

The Chairman welcomed new member Mrs Karen Benfield.

4.ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRPERSON

 $\underline{\textbf{Resolved}}$ — As only one nomination was received it was unanimously resolved that Councillor D Wright be re-elected to serve as Vice - Chairperson for 2024/25

5. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON AND VICE CHAIRPERSON OF FINANCE & GP MEETING

Resolved for Councillor Mrs S Benbow-Jones be re-elected to serve as Chairperson for 2024/25 **Resolved** for Councillor P Blackwell to be re-elected to serve as Vice Chairperson for 2024/25

6.ELECTION OF STATUTORY MEETINGS

<u>Resolved - That all members of the Council Constitute the Statutory meetings,</u> i.e. Finance & General Purposes Meeting

The clerk stated that any burial or lighting matters have been incorporated into the full council meetings, standing orders have been amended to reflect this change.

7 .ELECTION OF STAFFING COMMITTEE

<u>Resolved</u> – Cllr D Wright expressed his wish to resign from the staffing committee. The clerk stated that the council terms of reference will have to be changed to reflect that the council vice chair will not be included in this committee. There was one nomination to replace the vacancy on the committee. All members in favour of Mrs K Benfield joining the staffing committee, the rest of the committee is to remain as Councillors Mr Phil Vaughan, Mr Paul Blackwell, Mrs Pam Roberts, Mrs Sonia Benbow-Jones & Mrs G Wright.

8 .ELECTION OF PROJECT DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

<u>Resolved</u> – Project Development Committee to remain as Councillors Mr Phil Vaughan, Mr Derek Wright, Mrs Gaynor Wright, Mrs Isabel Twigg, Mrs Joan Jones and Mrs Sonia Benbow-Jones.

9.WAR MEMORIAL MEETING (Registered Charity)

<u>Resolved</u> - All Councillors act as Trustees of the Cefn Mawr War Memorial Committee.

10.DAY & TIMES OF MEETINGS

Resolved to leave as is: Full Council meetings will be held on the 4th Tuesday of the month starting at 6.45p.m, finance meeting, every quarter on the same evening as Full Council meetings. Staffing and Project Development committee meetings to be held as required. Meetings to be adjusted in December and around bank holidays.

11.TO RECEIVE ATTENDANCE & DECLARATION LIST FOR YEAR ENDED APRIL 2024

The Clerk distributed the attendance and declaration of interest list to members, this will also be displayed on the website .

12. CORRESPONDENCE RELATING TO AGM

There was no correspondence relating to Annual General Meeting.

13. APPOINTMENT OF THE INTERNAL AUDITOR

Following a discussion Members agreed to continue with the appointment of JDH for 2024/25 as the internal auditors as required by the Welsh Audit Office.

14. TO CONFIRM BANKING MANDATE FOR PAYMENTS – current signatories are Councillors PV, DW, PB

Members resolved for the signatories to remain as Councillors P Vaughan, D Wright, P Blackwell.

15. TO CONSIDER AMENDMENTS TO STANDING ORDERS

Minor changes to be made to reflect the absence of vice chair in the staffing committee, Resolved to re-adopt standing orders for 2024/25

16.TO CONSIDER AMENDMENTS TO FINANCIAL REGULATIONS

Following a discussion the Clerk requested that a small change be made to allow for a council debit card for large purchases. The clerk stated that due to ongoing work at the cemetery and other projects, some payments for materials are paid for using her personal account, then later reimbursed. Resolved, to re-adopt for 2024/25 with an amendment to allow for a council debit card.

17. PROCEDURAL MATTERS: TO AGREE AND RE-ADOPT THE FOLLOWING:

- (a) Annual Investment Strategy 2024-25
- (b) Schedule of Assets 2024-25
- (c) Risk Assessment Schedule 2024-25
- (d) Policy of Reserves 2024-25
- (e) Internal Financial Controls 2024-25
- (f) Terms of reference for standing committees 2024-25
- (g) Training Plan 2024-25
- (h) Publication Scheme 2024-25
- (i) Annual Report 2024-25

Resolved – to re-adopt policies listed (a)-(i) for 2024-25

18. TO AGREE CHAIRMANS ALLOWANCE

Members resolved for the Chairmans allowance to remain £1500.00 for the 2024/25 municipal year.

The Chairman thanked members for their attendance and declared the Annual Meeting closed.