Cefn Community Council was created in 1974, it represents the community and is classed as the first tier of Local Government – The grassroots.

The Council is limited in what it does by law in accordance with the Local Government Act 1972 and is subject to internal and external audit.

Sixteen local people form the Cefn Community Council, which is split into four wards these are:

  • Cefn Ward
  • Plas Madoc Ward
  • Rhosymedre & Cefn Bychan
  • Acrefair & Penybryn

Community Councillors are volunteers who stand for election because they care about Cefn and wish to see a difference being made. They are not paid.  The Council meets every fourth Tuesday of the month at the George Edwards Hall. Cefn Community Council welcome residents to observe Council business at the meetings at 6.45pm.

  • The Council owns and operates the George Edwards Hall, Cemetery, War Memorial, provides street lighting and various sporting and recreational facilities.
  • The Council is consulted by the Planning Authority on all developments affecting the village.
  • The Council provides annual grants to local organisations; please contact the Clerk for an application form or more details.
  • The George Edwards Hall is available for hire at very reasonable prices; please contact the Clerk for pricing and availability.

Council offices are based at George Edwards Hall, Well Street, Cefn Mawr and is open  –

Monday -Thursday 8am – 2pm, and Fridays 8.30am – 1.30pm

Telephone number 01978 821298 or Click Here for more ways to contact us.